Rockies Nickname Results (with just a little more help!)

The votes are in!  You’ve helped determine and enshrine some of the most amazing, creative nicknames ever in baseball. However, only one of the votes was a runaway:

I guess the Tulo/Cargo/Ubaldo trifecta is just too good to be true.

Other polls were a lot closer, with some AMAZING write-ins. To determine the officially-Humidor-certified nickname, we need to get a final vote to determine ultimate superiority.  I know, this is becoming a grueling, arduous process, but I think you’ll all agree: Our work here is vital to the success of the 2011 Rockies.  Voting will be open through the weekend, so vote early and often!

With honorable mentions to Johnny Angry Johnny, Johnny Little Train (I think I can…), Scrappy Doo!, Scrappy, Admiral Slappy McBloopALot, and Mighty Mouse.

With honorable mentions to Papa Bear, Wiggles the Clown, Mr. Wigglesworth, TWiggs, Sir Wiggy, Wiggity, and Piggy Wiggy.

With honorable mentions to The Smeth and Pretty Boy Smittie.

With honorable mentions to Fishsticks, Does he know the way to San Jose?, Lope, and J.Lopz.

And the most difficult and controversial by far, is the man himself (caution, facial hair may be temporary):

About dingerfan

Dinger is an offensively bad mascot, but I love the long ball. I love the Rockies, but think a majority of their fans are an embarrassment. "Excuse me, have you ever heard of a break in the action? Are we doing the wave right now, really?" I'm actually a SABR poser and probably look up what the stats actually mean before I present them to you as common knowledge. You're welcome.
This entry was posted in Major League Baseball, Rockies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rockies Nickname Results (with just a little more help!)

  1. mrlatenight says:

    My favorites are Admiral McSlappy BloopAlot (Paul are you behind that?), The Unicorn Whisperer and Wiggles the Clown.

  2. Paul F. says:

    No, that’s not my work, unfortunately. It does remind me, though, of Dodger fans’ nickname for Juan Pierre: Slappy McPopup.

  3. mcvouty78 says:

    For Ianetta, I like (to the tune of “Cielito Lindo”):

    Ai-yi-yi-yi, Ai-yi-ya-netta!

Leave a comment